Reframe your world

20140203-214843.jpg

As a child therapist and a mental health consultant in several schools, sometimes I struggle switching between my different hats and feeling like I’m really making a difference. I’ve decided if I reframed what “making a difference” looked like, than maybe that would help.

I’ve realized that even when it feels like I’m not making a huge impact, by simply helping others reframe there perspective, I am making a difference. Helping a parent of a child with a trauma history see a tantrum as a cry for help and a sign for a need to feel safe. Helping a teacher reframe how they see young children’s behaviors (as feelings to be understood). If we can reframe our own perspective and help others do the same, it can and does make a huge impact.

It can change how we approach a situation, what we say, how long we have patience, and our own emotional response. It can help take the “me” out of situations and through present moment awareness, see more clearly and objectively to respond in the most impactful way.

Let your world be turned upside down by a truth today and embrace seeing your life through new eyes.

“When another person makes you suffer, it is because he suffers deeply within himself, and his suffering is spilling over. He does not need punishment, he needs help.” ~Thich Nat Hahn
This is a quote that has reframed my world and I hope you’ll let it do the same to you. Such a compassionate and personally freeing message at the same time.

Leave a Reply

